The United Republic of Tanzania was formed out of the union of two sovereign states – Tanganyika and Zanzibar. Tanganyika became a sovereign state on 09th December, 1961 and became a Republic the following year. Zanzibar became independent on 10th December, 1963 and the People’s Republic of Zanzibar was established after the revolution of 12th January, 1964. The two sovereign republics formed the United Republic of Tanzania on 26th April, 1964. However, the Government of the United Republic of Tanzania is a unitary republic consisting of the Union Government and the Zanzibar Revolutionary Government.

Tanzania is home to several attractions, Mount Kilimanjaro which is the tallest mountain in Africa, Ngorongoro Crater, the Serengeti National Park and the white beaches of Zanzibar. Other attractions include Tarangire National Park, Lake Manyara, The Selous National Reserve and many others.

All of us at Sandrage Safaris look forward to arranging for you an unforgettable safari in Tanzania!